The Tim Hogan Award 

The Tim Hogan Award is presented to the under 13 player voted by our Coaches & Managers, who consistently demonstrates the following: 

  1. On and Off Field Leadership 
  2. Commitment to training 
  3. Supporting Match day duties
  4. Nurturing and Supporting younger team mates and Malvern players
  5. On Field Performance

Previous winners of the Tim Hogan Award


2009-10:  James Fearnside

2008-09:  Gus Borthwick

History of the award

This award is presented in recognition of Tim Hogan who kept the St John's East Malvern Cricket Club alive and saw the Junior Teams merge into Malvern.  Tim coached and administered the Junior program until 2008.

St John's East Malvern Cricket Club was founded around 1917 and played in the Southern Districts Churches League in the 1918/19 season, the first season of cricket after World War 1.

The team was initially made up of parishoners and included St John's Reverend Wilkinson as a player.

The club was promoted in to First Grade in 1920/21 and remained there through to the year 2000. St John's won close to 40 Premierships across its senior grades.

St John's first First Grade premiership being in 1924/25 with Rev Wilkinson still in his whites.

The club played at Central Park from its move in to First Grade, negotiating a pitch at Central Park for 10 shillings & 10 pence with the Council. 

St John's lives on in the Malvern Juniors with its Senior XI's disbanding leaving only a Junior club remaining. That club merged with Malvern Cricket Club establishing Malvern's junior program.